At Cape Ray, visit the museum that interprets the remains of a Dorset Paleo Eskimo settlement from some 1,800 years ago. This was a seasonal settlement used for seal hunting and was inhabited for an estimated 800 years. The Cape Ray Lighthouse was built in 1871 (the same year the Rose Blanche Lighthouse was started) and marked the southern tip of the French Shore, where the French enjoyed treaty right from 1783 until 1904.
The Codroy Valley Wetlands is home to a diverse resident waterfowl population and is a major resting area for some 200 species of migratory birds during the Spring and Fall. The Wetlands is recognized as an Estuary of International Significance under the 1971 Ramsar Convention.
The interpretation centre features information panels and bird displays. A well groomed trail is available to take visitors on a walk through the Wetlands with look outs and resting benches.
The newest attraction for Channel-Port aux Basques is the Grand Bay West Beach Trailway. Completed in 2010, the trail has a total length of approximately 6 Kilometers. The trail begins with an elevated boardwalk along the First Grand Bay West Beach, with a gravel walking path to follow and ending with a picturesque stroll along a sandy beach. The trail is located within the Town of Channel-Port aux Basques Municipal Wetland Stewardship Zone.
Four interpretative rest areas have been constructed along the gravel pathway between the first and second beach. Panels that are installed on the rest areas tell of three ship wrecks that have occurred in the immediate area of the trailway, along with a unique rock formation to the area, the Grand Bay West Schist. Directional signage has been installed throughout the pathway to ensure pedestrians have knowledge of the trail route.
Along the trailway, the Grand Bay West Beaches are wonderful places to sunbathe, swim, go for a walk, or even go for a horse ride. It is the breeding ground for the endangered species Piping Plover, as they nest in the tall grass of the beach. Come on out and enjoy some of the best beaches in Newfoundland.
The Harvey Trail at Isle aux Morts, honours the site of the daring rescues by the George Harvey family. Along with their Newfoundland dog “Hairyman”, the family saved all 160 lives aboard the ill-fated brig “Despatch” in 1828 and again 10 years later, they rescued the 25 member crew of the ship “Rankin”.
The trail includes interpretation panels, a mural at the end of the trail and a gazebo on the high point. Picnic tables and rest benches give the hiker opportunity to rest and take in the scenery.
The Hook and Line Museum & Interpretation Centre in Burnt Islands is a “working museum” with live and static displays that document and interpret the fishing industry. Here, you will experience such fishing activities as the baiting of hooks and splitting of fish. The Centre also has a restaurant attached for an authentic taste of tradition Newfoundland.
Deep Sea Fishing, Lighthouse Picnic, Shark Fishing, Resettlements Grand Tour, Charters.
Mandy Ryan Francis, President
Email: [email protected]
Our Mission: Port aux Basques Marine Excursions Inc. exists to create authentic, themed marine experiences for visitors and residents reflecting destination in tone, flavour and characteristics that is educational and enriching through hands-on interactivity that exceeds expectations.
The Railway Heritage Museum reflects the voyages that began over 100 years ago and takes a walk back in time to recapture the importance of the railway, fishery and ferry service in Newfoundland’s history.
Examples of Channel-Port aux Basques’ long and colourful heritage in the transportation and fishery industry can be seen at the Railway Heritage Museum. Two special historical artifacts at the museum are the “Astrolabes’, late medieval navigational instruments dating back to the 1600’s discovered by Port aux Basques resident Wayne Mushrow on ship wrecks off of Isle aux Morts.
Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday 9:00 am to 8:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Rates: $5 per person, Kids under 12 are free. Fee includes tour of train cars and museum
Amenities: Washroom Facilities, Gift Shop & Public Seating/Picnic Area.
Payment Options: Cash only
Booking Information: There is no requirement for booking, however if you are traveling with a large group, a call in advance could assist in having the necessary people on site to do a proper tour.
Events: Annual Astrolabe Days: First weekend in August
1 Trans Canada Highway
P.O. Box 1229
Port aux Basques, NL
Tele: 709-695-3688/ 694-4862
Email: [email protected]
Although often starkly functional in setting and design, lighthouses have become romantic symbols reflecting both Canada’s maritime greatness and of safe haven. The affection of Canadians for lighthouses is abiding and enduring and the community of Rose Blanche, Newfoundland is no exception.
The lighthouse is the only structure remaining from the earliest days of this community’s history. Built in 1871 from a nearby granite quarry, this lighthouse stands as a proud sentinel of our shores. D & T Stevenson, lighthouse engineers from Edinburgh, Scotland, designed the original apparatus. This is the family of noted author Robert Louis Stevenson. The light currently on display is a sixth-order Fresnel lens that is one of the few remaining lenses of this type.
Restored in 1999 and furnished with 19th century reproduced furniture and local antiques, this lighthouse is a must-see for all lighthouse enthusiasts.
The Royal Canadian Legion Memorial Park is located at the entrance to the Town of Port aux Basques. The center monument is in memory of the 137 people who lost their lives during the sinking of the S.S. Caribou in 1942. The World War I and II monuments are exact replicas of each other and contain the names of those from Port aux Basques who paid the supreme sacrifice in World War’s I and II.
Enjoy a leisurely stroll along the harbour boardwalk to Scott’s Cove Park. The route along the boardwalk is marked by colour flags shaped like ships and sails. At the park visit “The Village”; which consists of a ship amphitheatre surrounded by quaint little shops modeled on typical outport fishing stages. At the heart of the community, Scott’s Cove is a lively area of town with gift shops that have some of the best Newfoundland souvenirs and snack bars, as well as live nightly entertainment during the summer.
St. Andrew’s Na Creige Golf Course is situated in the beautiful Codroy Valley on Newfoundland’s west coast. This scenic nine-hole golf course provides spectacular panoramic views of the Long Range Mountains and Little Codroy River from every hole.
Located 20 minutes outside of Port aux Basques, St. Andrews Na Creige has some of the best golfing, as well as scenery, that Newfoundland has to offer.
July 28th to August 6th, 2022
We’ll provide instructions on how to register – and regular updates on scheduling, concerts – and anything that should be promoted.